Draupadi Murmu elected as the 15th President and first tribal President Of India. Know everything

Draupadi Murmu elected as the 15th President and first tribal President Of India
Draupadi Murmu elected as the 15th President and first tribal President Of India
Khushbu Kumari

The country has got the first tribal president in the form of Draupadi Murmu. She won against the common opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha by a huge margin securing 64 percent votes. Time to get introduced to the President.

With the victory of NDA's candidate Draupadi Murmu in the presidential election, India has got its first tribal president.

The swearing-in ceremony of the new President will take place on July 25. In the counting of votes for the Presidential elections held today, Draupadi Murmu defeated the joint candidate of the opposition Yashwant Sinha by securing a record vote.

Know the big things related to Draupadi Murmu's victory and counting.

NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu has won the presidential election with a total of 6,76,803 votes. Her rival Yashwant Sinha got a total of 3,80,177 votes.

The official announcement was made for Draupadi Murmu to win the election with 64.03 percent votes. Whereas Yashwant Sinha got 36 percent of the total valid votes.

Murmu got a total of 2824 voters including 540 MPs while his rival Sinha got 1,877 votes including 208 MPs.

Draupadi Murmu got votes in all the states during the presidential election. The opposition's presidential candidate Yashwant Sinha did not get votes from the three states of Andhra Pradesh, Nagaland and Sikkim.

All the MLAs of Andhra Pradesh voted in favor of Draupadi Murmu, while in Arunachal Pradesh she got the votes of all the MLAs except four.

Outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind congratulated Draupadi Murmu on being elected the new President of the country.

He tweeted and wrote, “Heartfelt congratulations and best wishes on the election of Draupadi Murmu as the 15th President of India.”

Yashwant Sinha, the opposition candidate in the presidential election, congratulated Draupadi Murmu, saying, “Every Indian hopes that as the 15th President, she will act as the custodian of the Constitution without any fear or favour. I stand with the countrymen. I wish them all the best.”

PM Narendra Modi congratulated Draupadi Murmu at her Delhi residence. PM Modi said that India has created history by electing a leader born in a tribal community, belonging to a remote part of eastern India, as the President in the Amrit Festival of Independence.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, BJP National President JP Nadda and all the ministers, leaders congratulated Draupadi Murmu on her resounding victory in the Presidential elections and said that her victory is a symbol of the strength of Indian democracy.

Many opposition leaders including Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan congratulated Draupadi Murmu.

Draupadi belongs to the Murmu tribal community. The country has got the first tribal president in the form of 64-year-old Draupadi Murmu. Apart from this, Draupadi Murmu has also become the youngest President of the country.

She has served as the Governor of Jharkhand from 2015 to 2021. Then Draupadi Murmu also had the distinction of becoming the first woman governor of Jharkhand.

She is the second woman to become the President of the country and the first person to become the President from Odisha.

You may also like:

About | Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy