The stimulus checks came at a crucial time for many Americans affected by the pandemic and its consequences, such as the rise in prices of various consumer items. They are estimated to have saved 11 million people from poverty in 2021 , according to the Census Bureau.
Fearing that many vulnerable families could slide back into financial deprivation, several states have enacted their own types of stimulus programs to help their residents.
Next, we present some states and their respective rules to be able to be creditor to the stimuli.
Eligible individuals will receive $200 up to $1,050 between the end of October and mid-January 2023. To qualify, you must have been a resident of the state for at least six months during the 2020 tax year and have filed your 2020 tax returns by the 15th. October 2021 and not be listed as a dependent of another person during tax year 2020. For more information , click here.
This is not as such a stimulus check but a tax refund. As long as you are considered a year-round resident of the state in 2021 and you are at least 18 years old as of December 31, 2021, you may have the opportunity to collect a tax refund of $750 for individual filers or $1,500 for joint filers. For more information click here.
Residents who have filed their 2021 state income tax return by the due date may qualify for the state's Relief Refund Program, which makes a one-time payment of $300 . For more information click here.
State Governor Ron DeSantis announced in mid-July that $450 one-time checks will be sent to families who are caregivers, foster parents or state assistance programs . To see which programs qualify , click here.
In early July, the state launched a $1.83 billion state family relief plan and included the suspension of the 1% sales tax on groceries through June 30, 2023, as well as a reduction in the sales tax. from 6.25% to 1.25%. For more information click here.
The state governor recently signed into law the use of excess reserves law to issue a one-time $125 taxpayer refund to residents. The first round was issued in May with more rounds in July and issued to all residents regardless of income level as long as they filed their 2020 tax returns by January 3, 2022. Click here for more information.
Thanks to new legislation signed by Governor Janet Mills in April, the state is paying out one of the highest stimulus checks at $850 to $1,700 for singles and couples respectively. To apply, residents must file a tax return before October 31 of this year and have an adjusted gross income of less than $100,000 if the return is individual or $150,000 if they are married and each file separately. For more information click here.
8. New Jersey
Last year Gov. Phil Murphy signed legislation allowing eligible state residents to receive checks of up to $500 as part of a middle-class tax refund. This applies to those who claimed at least one child as a dependent when filing their 2020 income taxes. For more information , click here.
9. New Mexico
The state provides stimulus checks to its residents, thanks to a new law signed by Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham in March. The support consists of a $500 refund available to married couples filing jointly, heads of households and surviving spouse with income less than $150,000. For more information click here.
Virginia residents with a tax liability last year are eligible to receive up to $500 as part of the tax rebate program. The support consists of a sum of $250 dollars for those who filed an individual return or $500 dollars for those who filed a joint return. For more info read this